Creative Writing – Door, Entry, Gate, Portal

Standard

First, I had the kids fold a piece of paper in half, and half again, to create four quadrants.  In each quadrant, they drew what THEY thought a door, entry, gate, and portal looked like, and labeled them.  They were really worried about me judging their drawing skills, but I assured them I wouldn’t.

Once they had the images drawn, the assignment shifted.  I instructed them to tell me (in 3-5 sentences) what was behind each opening – and it didn’t have to be mundane or even realistic.  it is creative writing, after all.

The kids came back with all sorts of interesting locations!

Leave a Reply

