Level 2 Art – Watercolor Barn Owls

Standard

The kids and I had a great time with this project!  I showed them a BASIC drawing of a barn owl.  We positioned it off-center, and it was a very good decision.  Once the owls were drawn very lightly in pencil, I had them lay down different watercolors and, with water, push the pigments out, creating a bloom.  They used the color strengths to create the illusion of feathers, and I love-love-LOVE how the owls took on personalities of their own!!  All the barn owls were created with the same instruction, and they each turned out so differently!  Oh, and one more thing:  This was their second time using watercolors!

This was my sample piece that I made right along with the students.

This was my sample piece that I made right along with the students.

Annika's owl looks like it just heard something!

Annika’s owl looks like it just heard something!

Faith's owl looks sleepy and content.

Faith’s owl looks sleepy and content.

One response »

Leave a Reply

