Cake – Wait… Cake?

Standard

We now interrupt our regularly scheduled broadcast for some…  cake?

Yeah, yeah, yeah…  I know it’s not “homeschooling,” but every now and then I make a really cool cake.  I even took step-by-step pictures and have instructions, so in a way, it IS teaching!  Right?  Well, my son asked for a zombie cake last year.  Here’s what he got and how I made it – just in case your kiddo wants one.

Step 1:  Bake 2, round, yellow cakes.  Let them cool, and level off the tops.

Step 1: Bake 2, round, lemon-flavored cakes. Let them cool, and level off the tops.

Step 2:  Cut out a cardboard circle that's at least 2" larger in diameter than your cake.  I only had a box that didn't have a big enough surface to make a complete circle, so I used painter's tape to join two pieces together.

Step 2: Cut out a cardboard circle that’s at least 2″ larger in diameter than your cake. I only had a box that didn’t have a big enough surface to make a complete circle, so I used painter’s tape to join two pieces together.

Step 3:  Cover said cardboard circle in foil.

Step 3: Cover said cardboard circle in foil.

Step 4:  Center 1 cake on the foil, and smear strawberry spread (it makes for some great-tasting, yummy blood when you cut the cake!) generously on top.  Don't get too close to the edge, because it'll squish out the sides!

Step 4: Center 1 cake on the foil, and smear strawberry spread (it makes for some great-tasting, yummy blood when you cut the cake!) generously on top. Don’t get too close to the edge, because it’ll squish out the sides!

Step 5:  Place the other lemon cake upside-down on the first.

Step 5: Place the other lemon cake upside-down on the first.

Step 6:  Using two bottom halves of yellow, plastic Easter eggs and Sharpies, draw out some fun eyes.

Step 6: Using two bottom halves of yellow, plastic Easter eggs and Sharpies, draw out some fun eyes.

Step 7:  In a mixing bowl, stir the contents of 1 tub of lemon-flavored frosting and some green (food coloring or cake/icing coloring).  Not TOO much green, though!  We're not making a leprechaun zombie today.

Step 7: In a mixing bowl, stir the contents of 1 tub of lemon-flavored frosting and some green (food coloring or cake/icing coloring). Not TOO much green, though! We’re not making a leprechaun zombie today.

Step 8:  Mix the frosting and coloring together really well.  You don't want stripes.

Step 8: Mix the frosting and coloring together really well. You don’t want stripes.

Step 9:  Frost your cake, but leave an opening.  In this picture (because of where I put the eyes), it kind-of looks like a muppet!

Step 9: Frost your cake, but leave an opening. In this picture (because of where I put the eyes), it kind-of looks like a muppet!

Step 10:  Press the eyeballs in.  I made mine a little wonky-styled to create a "DUHhhhh"-look, but you can put them however you like.

Step 10: Press the eyeballs in. I made mine a little wonky-styled to create a “DUHhhhh”-look, but you can put them however you like.

Step 11:  Using some red piping gel, squit some wounds on his face.  Also give him his tongue.  The only red piping gel I could find at the time was sparkly, but my son said that was ok.

Step 11: Using some red piping gel, squit some wounds on his face. Also give him his tongue. The only red piping gel I could find at the time was sparkly, but my son said that was ok.

Step 12:  I used black piping gel to create the details.  I went around the eyes, colored in the mouth, put two nasal cavity holes, and gave him eyebrows.  Placing the eyebrows like I did gave him more of a vacant look.  If I had turned the eyebrows in toward his nose, he would have been an angrier zombie.  Just something to think about when you're making your own zombie cake.

Step 12: I used black piping gel to create the details. I went around the eyes, colored in the mouth, put two nasal cavity holes, and gave him eyebrows. Placing the eyebrows like I did gave him more of a vacant look. If I had turned the eyebrows in toward his nose, he would have been an angrier zombie. Just something to think about when you’re making your own zombie cake.

Step 13:  This step can be ommitted, if you like.  I found some mint-chocolate (brown and green) marshmallows at the store.  I thought it would be fun to put some teeth in!  Rawwwwrrrrrrr!

Step 13: This step can be ommitted, if you like. I found some mint-chocolate (brown and green) marshmallows at the store. I thought it would be fun to put some teeth in! Rawwwwrrrrrrr!

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

