Level 1 Art – Tree Silhouettes

Standard
A lesson in silhouette trees.

A lesson in silhouette trees.

This project turned out to be a little more complicated than I imagined.  I constantly have to remind myself that almost all of these kids have never had a formal art class.  I do think I’ll revisit this next year, however.  The kids are having fun, and they’re catching on to the Art Learning-Curve, and that’s what matters.We started by blending some watercolors on the canvas boards.  We used some beautifully warm colors to create the background.  In the next class, I had them use black oil paint, showed them how to thin it, and asked them to make a tree to fill the board.  I realised after the fact that I skipped SEVERAL steps (like what a tree looks like), BUT again, they had a good time, and it’s a learning process for all of us.  In the end, some of them turned out beautifully, but most of them turned out like…  well… interpretive.

Leave a Reply

