Level 1 Art – Funky Chickens

Standard

This was such a fun excerise!  The kids had a blast with it, and I found it to be quite entertaining myself!

The original lesson for this can be found here.  Since it has all the how-to’s pretty well explained, I won’t bother you with re-writing them.  However, I WILL tell you some tips that I would do differently next time.

First, I would have the kids all use the same brand of oil pastels.  What one company deems as “yellow,” (and it’s a true sunshine-yellow) another company may CALL it “yellow,” but it’s closer to a mustard-shade.  This happens in most of the colors.  The reason for this is when the chicken-rears are being added, I’d like to instruct the kids to use “red” or “yellow” to have it match.  About half the chickens were two different colors – and not that there’s anything wrong with that, but I felt that it took away from the shape and design of the chicken, which, in itself, was hilarious.

Secondly, I’d have them wait to put the grass on when the blue sky is added at the end.  This way, it’ll look more like just the CHICKEN is funky, and not the entire picture.

On a side note, I wanted to call these “Split Chicken Breasts,” but my class just stared at me like I grew a second head.

I just LOVE how this chicken had an expression on his face!  What do you think is on his little mind?

I just LOVE how this chicken had an expression on his face! What do you think is on his little mind?

They were all so funny!

They were all so funny!

 

 

Leave a Reply

