Writing – Mr. Stick Intro

Standard

This is Gavin’s (ily, Gavin!) Mr. Stick Intro. Notice that the poor soul is a relative of Count Olaf and he’s unfortunately married to an evil wife.

So this year, I received a giant lump of non-writers.  My son was included in this.  Most of the moms told me their kids were readers, but didn’t like to write a lick.  I was a little worried because my normal question to myself would be, “Self?  How do I get him (my son) to enjoy writing?”  Now I had to figure out something for 11 kids.  ELEVEN!

After looking on Pintrest (ily, Pintrest!), I found this great site that was all about Mr. Stick.  You can find the original idea here.  I kept a few parts of it, but I tweaked it for my classroom.  Why did I do that?  Because I can.  Remember – this is homeschooling.

The basic idea is to write about the given topic in a composition notebook, and draw Mr. Stick on the paper to match with the assignment.  I don’t have too many in the classroom that can draw very well, so having Mr. Stick be a stick figure was perfect.

We started off with me showing the kids how to draw a ‘proper’ stick figure.  I made sure to emphasize that the head needed to be the size of a quarter – a few times.  I have one kid, Aaron (ily, Aaron!), who writes and draws like he’s trying to impress a mouse!  Needless to say, I sometimes feel like I need a microscope just to see his work.

After the main head and body were drawn (we’re lucky to have an overhead projector at our new location!), I went over different facial expressions Mr. Stick might have.  It was so funny hearing all the different ideas the kids had, and I tried to draw them all.  Some were very similar, but I obliged.  I had the kids draw them in their book, next to the body and head shapes.

Once the kids got that down, I asked them to create an introduction.  I told them it needed to be at LEAST 3-5 sentences, and that it should have information like:  does he have any parents?  does he have a wife?  how about children?  and any other pertinent information about him.  It was so funny reading the responses I got!  The kids absolutely loved writing about him!  Nick (ily, Nick!) made Mr. Stick an assassin.  Noah’s (ily, Noah!) Mr. Stick had 1,000,000 kids (yes, that’s one MEEEEElion).  Funny Dominic (ily, Dominic!) made Mr. Stick a few thousand years old.  They all had a blast with it.

I’m on to something…

Leave a Reply

